Little Owls Nursery School

Little Owls Nursery School, Brook Green


Ofsted Report
View our Ofsted Report
View Heligan's Wild's Live Webcam's

Early Years Foundations Stage

Early Years Foundations Stage Curriculum (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statutory curriculum for all children aged between birth and five years old.

At Miss Daisy's we recognise that this is a very important stage as it helps your child prepare for school as well as prepare for all their future learning and successes.

We ensure that from the moment your child joins us until their final day that their early years experience is happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and we support their development,care and learning needs.

How will my child be learning?

As part of the EYFS, your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.

These are:

  • Communicaiton and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, these prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 other specifc areas. 

These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive arts and design
  • Understanding the world

These 7 areas are used to plan your child's learning and activities.  Your child's teacher will make sure that the activities are suited to your child's unique needs.  This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's sutiable for very young children, and it's designed to be flexible so that the teachers can follow your child's individual needs and interests.

Children learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.